Ryan

Wednesday Afternoon

In Blog on September 21, 2011 at 6:47 pm

It’s Wednesday again! My first opportunity to sit down in blog since the week’s been in.

I tried to catch up on some much-needed sleep this morning, but I had to, oh, writeanentirepaper before class today.

I’ve fallen into my wonderful cocoon: procrastination.

I tried to fight it back for as long as possible, but it’s a killer bug, and sometimes it bites me when I’m least expecting it.

However, I’m thankful procrastination’s the only insect in my life — quite a few folks in close proximity have fallen ill lately. And I don’t want or need to get sick. I’d … yeah, I wouldn’t be able to function.

I’m also really thankful for my killer immune system. I don’t think I’ve been sniffly/coughy/acheythroaty in a while. Like, since freshmen year. Although, I’m not entirely sure this Donut Stick I’m eating right now is helping my health at all. Don’t judge me! They’ve been staring at me in the newspaper office, and I’m doughnuts’ slave.

Whatever, I’m swimming tonight, so I won’t be turning into a fat American any time soon. Thankfully.

I’m also pretty thankful I scored pretty well on my lab assignment for my newspaper editing class. Many of my fellow student-journalists didn’t score so hot, and we’re all kinda panicky on what this’ll have on the outcome of our grades. A lot of us, also, are pretty darn good students.

I’m determined to get an A in that class. I WILL get an A in that class.

Yesterday, I turned in my paper in “Frankenstein”! That was cool. I also really procrastinated on it, and I’m really embarrassed that I didn’t finish it on Saturday, like I originally wanted. It was answering a question about the novel’s epistolary plot structure and the effects that had on reading the story as a whole. I think my paper turned out pretty well, and if I get a pretty good grade on it, I’ll post it on here.

I definitely want to make my online presence more education and discussion-based than, I guess, comedic. I think you can be comedic while still learning and engaging in conversation — I mean, you’ve heard of the vlogbrothers.

We watched an episode of “Friends” in class today and had a discussion about masculine and feminine discourse, which was super interesting. I learned most of this through, like, MySpace bulletins and linguistics class freshmen year, but I like how we fine-tuned most of what I’d previously thought/known/thought I’d know about gendered discourse.

All is excellent now. I’m mega pumped to go swimming. I’m mega pumped to dance alone in my room to “Helena Beat” at some point. I’ve introduced a couple of folks in the office to the folk version of Foster the People’s own songs. While “Pumped Up Kicks” is the pinnacle summer 2011 ditty, I’m perfectly fine with the rest of the album leading me into fall. I’ll have good memories of September/October/whatever 2011 and this album.

I’ll leave today with Lera Lynn, Athens’ folksinger-songwriter who daren’t shy away from pullin’ anyone into a permanent folk funk. Sean introduced Lindsay and me to her music last night, and his friend plays the banjo in this track (to which I wouldn’t usually link because of the YouTube-Vimeo rivalry, but, you know, for the sake of spreading good music an all that). Here’s a cover of TV on the Radio’s “Wolf Like Me.”

Leave a Reply

