Ryan

An FSU TA showed one of my videos in his class

In BEDA 2011 on April 13, 2011 at 10:15 pm

I came home to one of the most exciting messages in my YouTube career.

One of my friends from middle left a comment on my Facebook wall that said her teacher’s assistant at Florida State University showed my video “Anaphora is for Ststutterers” in class today.

She told me that the class was reviewing stylistic techniques for their final speeches, and the teacher’s assistant wanted to use examples for YouTube to reinforce these techniques.

I didn’t get overdramatic, but a couple of tears did leak through my eyes when I realized the implications of this.

I’ve been in college for almost two years, and ever since we started watching YouTube videos in my class in fall 2009 — in speech, coincidentally — I’ve feared/worried/been anxious about my videos showing up in the related videos.

I’ve never once considered that my video would be a part of a lesson in one of my own classes.

I can’t lie, though, after I posted that video, I thought to myself how it would be an entertaining way to teach students about simile, hyperbole, apostrophe and, of course, anaphora, but I just considered that wishful thinking.

It might sound vain, but now I’m wondering if educators have shown that, or any of my other educational-type videos, to there classes before now or even if they’ll do it after this.

I think what makes this whole experience more special for me is the fact that my friend was in the class in which my video was shown.

It just really encourages me to keep making educational videos, even if I’ll never make a dime from doing it.

I love the kinds of videos I make that are related to educating my viewers, and I’m incredibly thankful to have a subscriber base that, like, appreciates these videos and understands the jokes behind them.

Whereas sometimes I’ll feel inadequate to my video-making peers because they’re all so brilliant, crafty and talented, I find it humbling that I could be used as an educational tool — especially at the collegiate level.

Today, I’ve been thinking about more videos I want to make discussing some different literary topics, but of course, I like to make all sorts of videos.

Right now, I’m totally in love with making videos like that one for my fellow book-lovers, but I understand a lot of people enjoy seeing what creative editing tricks I can do, if done correctly.

I’m super excited about having some free time this summer to execute some different ideas and post them on my channel.

I think I’m almost over caring about if [insert YouTuber’s name here] will notice me, and instead I want to interact with the friends I already have and watch and support their content.

And so what if my videos don’t gain thousands or tens of thousands of views? If I can make things that cause people to think and that educate people, it satisfies the goals I’ve always had in mind a communicator, and that’s way more fulfilling to me right now than a large pay check.

  1. I freaking love this. We CAN teach the world around us with our youtube videos. And agreed on the views/recognition. I’d rather get video comments and talk to people than look at how many views I’ve had.

  2. Congratulations!
    I think I understand the overcaring for being noticed by someone big but eventually the comments that say that my videos helped someone or got to someone or that I share the same sense of humor with my viewers are the ones that make my day.

Leave a Reply

