Ryan

Places I’ve Been: Part I

In BEDA 2011 on April 10, 2011 at 9:08 pm

My blog posts have been a little heady lately, so I’ve decided to lighten things up a bit.

For those of you keeping up at home, my back is not in anymore pain and has been fine for this entire, glorious day. I’ve had a great day.

I figured today I would do a topical blog, so I’m going to tell you all about the places I’ve been.

Oftentimes, I’ll be talking to my friends, and they’ll be surprised that I’ve gone to a certain place before. I think it’s absurd because I thought I give off the air of an adventurous person. I mean, sure I spend a lot of time on the Internet, but all of that time takes me to very fun places, and who knows where it will take me in the future?

1. Orlando, Fla.
– Orlando has to be one of my favorite cities. I love the theme parks, I love the hotels, I love I-Drive. I’ve had so many wonderful memories of being in Orlando, for vacation, for swim meets, for friend-seeings. Fun fact: I’ve been to Orlando four times since the Wizarding World of Harry Potter opened up last May, and I have not gone to Wizarding World once. What is my life?! I went down for a day of Infinitus, which was beautiful. I next went down to see Deathly Hallows: Part 1 with Erica and Raquel and their friends. Then, I went for a swim meet at UCF. And most recently, I attended Playlist LIVE, a YouTube and music festival.

2. Germany and Austria
– The farthest I’ve ever been. This is the one that shocks a lot of people. I went to Europe in March of 2004 for Spring Break as a part of EF Tours with my school. It was awesome! My favorite city is Innsborough, Austria, I loved the hotel at which at stayed there. This trip was  a while ago, but it was definitely such a wonderful time. I had the moving experience of going to Dachau, a concentration camp in Munich, Germany. I even got to go to beautiful Vienna, Austria, where we went to an amusement park one night, and, let me tell you, it certainly amused me.

3. Irvine, Calif.
– I went to Irvine with my parents in 2006 for a national swim meet. No, I didn’t participate. My dad is a stroke and turn judge, so he gets to travel across the country and officiate swim meets. Sometimes, I get to go along. It was a such a wonderful experience to be around greats such as Michael Phelps, Natalie Coughlin, Ryan Lochte, Amanda Beard, Ian Crocker, wow, the list goes on. California is interesting because it’s in a desert, so it’s Florida-like during the day and FREEZING at night. We went during — it must of been — August. So you’d think: warm days and warm night.

4. Laguna Beach, Calif.
– We took an excursion one day that my dad had free time and drove to Laguna Beach. We didn’t get in the water, but it looked like a cool place to be. I remember there was the STEEP road, and my dad joked about driving up it. I’m so glad he didn’t follow through because there was glass at the bottom. I saw a car kind of flop down it, and it scared me. For them, that’s every day, though, you know? We browsed around a fudge store and got Jamba Juice.

5. Indianapolis, Ind.
– I love this city. Ugh. Such a beautiful place. We stayed downtown, and there was a mall within walking distance. I fell in love with the big circle where a large monument sits in the center. Then, you can see all of the media outlets, radio and television stations namely, and you can see them work. There sat an Au Bon Pain at the corner, and I really liked it. I worked on my first feature-length screenplay. Summer of 2007. I knew I’d be switching schools. I had finished Deathly Hallows already, but my mom and my aunt were reading it. The hotel at which we stayed was pretty cool, and we went here because my dad was officiating junior nationals. I got to go to Purdue Hall of Fame and its swimming pool, and it was all just wonderful. We found a neat pizza joint, and I even got to walk past the Indianapolis Star building.

6. Washington, DC.
– I love me some of my nation’s capital. I’ve been here twice, and the most recent was in 2005. My dad had to go up for work, so it was really cool to be able to remember it this go ’round. I loved exploring the monuments and walking all the way up to Lincoln. I also really like visiting the Smithsonian museum, where we saw workers reconstructing Old Faithful, which was a delight and a treat. I’m also really sure we saw a Latin-American exhibit, which was interesting! It dealt a lot with pop music because it featured Shakira at one point. My mom, aunt and I had to catch metros because my dad used the rental car to go to his various meetings. It was cool to feel like an actual native.

7. Baltimore, Md.
– My last for the tonight, Baltimore was the place where I finished Half-Blood Prince in a car ride. I love Baltimore. We went downtown, and it’s right by the wonderful Atlantic Ocean. I really enjoyed all of the crabs that were painted and placed around a certain area, especially because on was painted as the Maryland flag; I love flags. We went to a seafood restaurant and had lunch, and I remember it being quite good. We poked around some small shops, I think, but that could have been in DC. I excitedly took photos of Orioles Stadium because in my T-ball days, there was this girl who played for the Orioles, and I was in T-ball love with her. So. There’s that.

Now, this isn’t a comprehensive list, but these are all the big ones. Well, I think I left one big one out. I’ll continue this later on in the month, you just might have to remind me!

  1. […] is a play on Ryan’s Places I’ve Been: Part I.  I had at-replied a friend about Miami the other day, and Ryan had asked me when/how long I had […]

  2. I’ve totes been in sports love w/ guys before, haha. There was a guy on my intramural soccer team this year that I had the biggest little sports crush on because a) he was cute, b) he was really good at soccer, and c) we both played defense together. Glad I’m not the only one.

  3. Another great post. I really enjoy your blog very much. I have been lucky enough to travel my whole life. The experiences you have traveling can be amazing.

    Useful Travel and Vacation Tips

Leave a Reply

