Ryan

Corner of the Internet

In BEDA 2011 on April 8, 2011 at 10:19 pm

This one time, my friend Kassie made a video about making one’s own space in the Internet.

She said something very beautiful like: “You don’t read ‘Harry Potter’ one night and then wake up Melissa Anelli.”

If that reference doesn’t make sense, Melissa Anelli is definitely in the top five of my actual heroes, not just someone who I claim is my hero.

She’s the webmistress of the best Harry Potter news site, The Leaky Cauldron.

Anyway, I’ve been perusing the Internet, and I came across a vlogger who I knew years ago as someone who worked on a Harry Potter website.

It’s so strange how people transition from being Harry Potter HTML and forum nerds to YouTube junkies.

It’s also strange that I’ve settled in a place on the Internet. I can’t go back to the days of being a faceless commenter. Now, people except me to make videos, expect me to be on Skype and expect me to respond to their tweets.

And it’s such a glorious thing.

I think finding one’s place on the Internet can be a difficult thing to do, but for many of my friends, I think we’re all comfortable with the friends we’ve met and the people interested in the weird things we do.

I fear this might be one of my shorter posts because I really want to watch this DigiTour live feed, and it’s 10:15 p.m. I promise I can write a substantial blog tomorrow, but right now, I think I’m out of ideas on which to elaborate.

In other news, the Creator Institute voting portion ended today. Apparently, they extended the day that I’ll know the results until May 2. I wish that we’d at least know the top up-to 50! Right? That would be courteous.

Anyway, at this point, I’m pretty sure I didn’t make it into the top 50, but hopefully people I think deserve to be did. I guess I just have to plan for a normal summer at home, and I shouldn’t be too discouraged because I cannot wait to see all my friends in July.

It would just be stellar to hang out with YouTubers for a whole month as opposed to two short weekend.

In any case, this show sounds too good to miss. It’s DeStorm spittin’ rhymes, Freddie Wong takin’ stuff away on the guitar, Ricky Ficarelli slammin’ that drum set, and someone I don’t know mixin’.

I LOVE YOUTUBE.

That’s one of those obnoxious things you think in your head but have to express because it’s overwhelming.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

